North Texas educators named as award finalists

by SOURCE H-E-B’s Excellence in Education

Fort Worth—Ten North Texas educators have been named finalists for the 2024 H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards, spotlighting them as some of the best educators in Texas.

H-E-B’s Excellence in Education is the largest monetary awards program for educators in Texas and is among the largest in the nation. The honor was kept a surprise from the educators, who this week learned they were finalists when H-E-B representatives visited their classrooms and schools.

Teachers were presented with a $1,000 check for themselves and a $1,000 check for their school; counselors were presented with a $1,000 check for themselves and a $1,500 check for their school; and principals received a $1,000 check for themselves and a $2,500 check for their school.

The finalists are as follows, in alphabetical order:

Tiffany Blackwood, Morris T. Griffin Middle School, Lewisville ISD (Counselor Secondary)

Amanda Byars, Young Women’s Leadership Academy, Midland ISD (Rising Star Secondary)

Catherine Jackson, Carthage High School, Carthage ISD (Lifetime Achievement Secondary)

Shelley Jeoffroy, Otis Brown Elementary, Irving ISD (Leadership Elementary)

Megan Massey, Sue Evelyn Rattan Elementary, Anna ISD (Counselor Elementary)

Teresa McCutcheon, Spring Creek Elementary, Garland ISD (Principal Elementary)

Amanda Ramos, Sellers Middle School, Garland ISD (Principal Secondary)

Lizeth Gonzalez Rivera, M.H. Moore Elementary, Fort Worth ISD (Rising Star Elementary)

Veronica Stapper, Glenmore Elementary, San Angelo ISD (Lifetime Achievement Elementary)

Leslie Swanson, Abilene High School, Abilene ISD (Leadership Secondary).

All finalists are invited to the Marriott Marquis in Houston on Sunday, May 5, to compete on a statewide level for larger cash prizes totaling $480,000.